Outstanding Olympian candidates for IOC Athletes’ Commission

17 | 12 | 2015

The WOA has congratulated all Olympians who put themselves forward for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Athletes’ Commission elections, following the approval of 24 candidates by the IOC Executive Board at its recent meeting in Lausanne.

The athletes, who come from all continents and represent 14 different sports with an equal number of men and women, will vie for just four seats on the Commission with current members Claudia Bokel (chair), Dae Sung Moon, Barbara Kendall, Pedro Yang, Alexander Popov and Yumilka Ruiz Luaces all finishing their terms of office next year. 

In a statement following the announcement the IOC noted the great response owed much to the Olympic Agenda 2020 reforms, which have put a greater focus on athletes and the central role they have to play within the IOC and the Olympic Movement. 

WOA President, Joël Bouzou, said:

“It is fantastic to see such a strong list of candidates seeking election to the IOC Athletes’ Commission – the WOA fully supports those that choose to give back to sport in this meaningful way. We also recognise the importance of our own relationship with the IOC Athlete’s Commission and we are determined to work together to strengthen the position of athletes at the heart of the Olympic Movement.

“We wish all applicants the best for next year’s election and we look forward to working closely with the successful candidates.”

IOC Athletes’ Commission Chair, Claudia Bokel, said:

“I am delighted with the calibre of candidates from many different sports and all continents.   These candidates are putting their hands up to take a greater responsibility in representing athletes around the world.  I urge all Olympians who will be in Rio next year to make their voice heard by voting!”

The election will take place during the Rio 2016 Olympic Games next August. All athletes participating in the 2016 Olympic Games will be eligible to vote.

The full list of candidates is:

  • Nasser Salih AL-ATTIYAH – Five-time Olympian and bronze medal winning shooter from Qatar
  • Benjamin BOUKPETI – Double Olympian and bronze medal winning Togolese slalom canoeist
  • Nadin DAWANI – Three-time Olympian who represented Jordan in taekwondo and member of the Jordan Olympic Committee
  • Nataliya DOBRYNSKA – Beijing 2008 Olympic heptathlon champion who has represented Ukraine in three Olympic Games
  • Marina DURUNDA – Rhythmic Gymnast and aspiring Rio 2016 Olympian from Azerbaijan
  • Daniel GYURTA – London 2012 Olympic champion and Beijing 2008 silver medallist in the 200m breaststroke from Hungary
  • Yelena ISINBAYEVA – Two-time Olympic gold medallist (Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008), three-time World Champion and current world record holder in the Pole Vault
  • Britta HEIDEMANN – Three-time Olympic fencer from Germany who won gold at Beijing 2008 and silver at London 2012
  • Gerd KANTER – Beijing 2008 Olympic discus champion and London 2012 bronze medallist from Estonia
  • Yi-chun LIN – Former world champion and triple Olympic shooter from Chinese Taipei
  • Mijaín LÓPEZ – Five-time world champion and double Olympic champion in Greco-roman wrestling from Cuba 
  • Aya MEDANY – Egyptian modern pentathlete who has competed at three Olympic Games
  • Sari MULTALA – Triple Olympic sailor and two-time world champion from Finland
  • Koji MUROFUSHI – Four-time Olympian, Athens 2004 gold medallist in the hammer throw and Tokyo 2020 Sports Director
  • Saina NEHWAL – Indian badminton star and bronze medal winner from the London 2012 Olympic Games
  • Ryan PINI – Three-time Olympic swimmer from Papua New Guinea
  • Monika PYREK-ROKITA – Polish pole vaulter who has competed at four Olympic Games since her debut at Sydney 2000.
  • João RODRIGUES – Portuguese windsurfer and former world champion who has competed at a remarkable six Olympic Games since Barcelona 1992
  • Seung-min RYU – Athens 2004 Olympic table tennis champion from Korea, bronze and silver medallist at the 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games respectively
  • Jean-Michel SAIVE – Belgium table tennis legend who competed in an incredible seven consecutive Olympic Games from Seoul 1988 to London 2012
  • Robert SCHEIDT – Brazilian sailor who has won two golds, two silvers and a bronze medal over the course of his Olympic career
  • Luis SCOLA – NBA star and Athens 2004 Olympic champion as part of the gold medal winning Argentinean basketball team.
  • Alessandra SENSINI – Four-time Olympic sailor who has won gold, silver and two bronze medals for Italy
  • Sarah WALKER – Double Olympian and London 2012 silver medal winning New Zealand BMX rider