Olympians qualify as AFEC Assessors

28 | 1 | 2021

20 Olympians from around the world have celebrated completing the Olympic Athlete Friendly Education Centre (AFEC) Assessor Training Programme in an online graduation ceremony hosted by WOA President, Joël Bouzou OLY, and World Academy of Sport (WAoS) Director, Chris Solly.

The newly qualified Assessors will certify educational centres that provide flexible learning and support structures to enable student athletes to balance their sport and education. The ‘Class of 2020’ will provide advice, accredit new schools and engage with the global network of AFEC schools in activities including virtual and face-to-face school visits and Q&A webinars.

During the online ceremony WOA President Joël Bouzou OLY said:

“Congratulations to my fellow Olympians on achieving this important qualification and for adapting to the challenges of completing your training in a virtual environment. Becoming an Athlete Friendly Education Centre Assessor is a unique accomplishment and will provide many new opportunities.

“As Olympians, you have already inspired communities around the world during your competing careers, and now you have the opportunity to enhance your legacies and support future generations of sports men and women.”

The 20 Olympians graduating include:

  • Alex Almoukov OLY – Australia, Biathlon, Vancouver 2010, Sochi 2014  
  • Christine Arthur OLY – New Zealand, Hockey, Los Angeles 1984, Barcelona 1992  
  • Myriam Baverel OLY – France, Taekwondo, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004  
  • Heather Fell OLY – Great Britain, Modern Pentathlon, Beijing 2008  
  • DJ Forbes OLY – New Zealand, Rugby, Rio 2016  
  • Conrad Francis OLY – Sri Lanka, Swimming, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004  
  • Suzanne Grayson OLY – Australia, Athletics, Atlanta 1996  
  • Nikki Hamblin OLY – New Zealand, Athletics, Rio 2016  
  • David Harte OLY – Ireland, Hockey, Rio 2016  
  • Juliet Haslam OLY – Australia, Hockey, Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000  
  • Sabine Hazboun OLY – Palestine, Swimming, London 2012  
  • Benny Lin OLY – Indonesia, Tennis, Barcelona 1992  
  • Riccardo Mazzetti OLY – Italy, Sport Shooting, Rio 2016  
  • Kaarle McCulloch OLY – Australia, Track Cycling, London 2012, *reserve Rio 2016, *selected Tokyo 2020  
  • Lydia O’Loughlin OLY – New Zealand, Swimming, Atlanta 1996  
  • Rodrigo Pacheco OLY – Peru, Badminton, London 2012 
  • Shelley Rudman OLY – Great Britain, Skeleton, Bobsleigh, Torino 2006, Vancouver 2010, Sochi 2014  
  • Akiko Thomson-Guevara OLY – Philippines, Swimming, Seoul 1988, Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996 
  • Philipp Waeffler OLY – Switzerland, Modern Pentathlon, Atlanta 1996 
  • Kristaps Zvejjeks OLY – Latvia, Alpine Ski, Vancouver 2010, Sochi 2014, PyeongChang 2018